Sometimes two heads are better than one

One thing that has been a constant discussion in my household is whether or not my partner (who is only 23) wants a hysterectomy.  She is very butch and hates getting her period (for more reasons than the obvious).  Plus she never wanted to birth her children.  I have always been against it.  And my main argument was “what if I get cancer and can’t have anymore kids?”  Even with that she said she wanted it.  Then I got HPV and the reasoning’s to keep her uterus became so clear all of the sudden.  Ok I’m not setting myself up for cancer, but Lets just say that was to happen.  Would I be able to carry a baby, possibly if they catch it early enough but most likely not.  but she can and will carry.  We’ve talked about it alot since the “phone call”.  I do know the thought of childbirth still makes her squeamish, but she would do it for me.  I would still pump and prepare my breasts for breastfeeding if possible so I can nurse.  If I couldn’t nurse she would pump so the baby would get breast-milk.  That’s also a big important thing for her.  Breastfeeding.  I breastfed for 2.5 years with my son.  She knows how important it is to me.

Sometimes I wonder if she’s following a script of what to say and do because so far she has been soo amazing.

December 7, 2007. Tags: , , , , , , . Feelings, having a baby, HPV, lesbian, Love.

3 Comments

  1. Gypsy Goddess replied:

    How has the HPV affected the progress of your relationship? Has it helped in the healing? Or hindered it?

  2. Gypsy Goddess replied:

    The reason I ask is because often personal tragedy brings people together, makes them stronger. Sometimes because they realise how much they mean to each other. Or an “us against the world” feeling.
    On the other hand, the way you feel about yourself and the virus can cause isolation and push people apart. Stress and tension create havoc.

    Also as difficult as the week before the phone call were, do you believe it had to happen to bring you to where you are now with your partner? In tarot it is known as a ‘tower’ moment.

    Personally, I believe that part of healing the body is state of mind. So it is something to think about.

    It makes me think of a Phoenix. Out of the ashes she emerges.

  3. joianne replied:

    It’s definatly brought us together but we’re on the ledge. As much as it’s brought us together it still has the oppertunity to rip us apart. We’re still in “shock” mode. So far so good. It’s simply one day at a time. The phone call as ironic as it was happened at a good time. I had been caring for her because she was sick and so she had a moment of forced neeed for me. Her being sick made her depend on me in ways she hadn’t wanted a week before. The phone call was the device that made me do the same. It put us in a whole new perspective for each other. Maybe next week will be different. But right now we’re ok.

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

