Did you know you could grab a cervix?

Yeah either did I.

So we went for our testig today.  First let me tell you how at my OB’s office we are somewhat famous.  It’s kinda cute.  They all know us and they all know we’re a couple.  So when I made this appointment I made my partners imedietly after mine so that we could hold each others hands.  And the doctors office not only did that but they treated us like we mattered.  They knew we were scared and so they made sure we were taken care of.

We did my coloposcy first.  This is not for pussies.  There are three things you need when going for you coloposcy, 1.  rainbow toe socks (I wore mine and it eased the tension, mine at least, plus made the doc laugh 🙂  ), 2.  a full bladder (the need a sample, noone told me this so I peed before i left the house, mommy manners, and of course I couldn’t even get a drop out), 3.  some gulible persons hand (see below).

If I wasn’t given the gift of a tilted uterus I’m sure this would of been sooo much easier.  But since my uterus and cerivx like to hide, my doctor had to “grab” it and “pull” it closer.  Oh my god.  I never thought I would experience childbirth without the reward at the end. My poor partner had the life squeezed out of her hand.   She was awesome though.  And then my woderful, loving doctor says, I’m going to have to take the sample.  And she tells me it’s going to hurt and she’s sorry and that she will let me know before the “punch”.  I  thought I was going to die.  After all is said and done, it really doesn’t hurt too bad.  A bit of cramping and a bit sore, but ok.  The doctor came back to the room to say my cells were still abnormal so we should have results in a few weeks, I have my result appointment on January 8th.

My partners pap was next.  This poor thing.  For most woman a pap smear is simple, a bit uncomfortable, but doable on your lunch break even.  Not for my baby.  She doesn’t get penetrated and when she does I have to under extreme caution.  She has a very narrow opening and a very small vagina.  Fingers can hurt if done the wrong way.   She tried wiggiling off the table and runinng away, but again my doctor is awesome. She body tackled her and wrestled her to the table, ok not really but she sure as hell got the job done.  Poor thing has been sore since.

I guess thats all, Our day since then has been uneventful, thank god.
Time to make dinner.  🙂

**UPDATE**
For anyone reading this looking to see what their coloposcy is going to entail, The procedure itself isn’t bad.  It was that bad for me because my uterus is tilted. My cervix was out of reach.  Until she grabbed my cervix the procedure was at the most uncomfortable.

December 11, 2007. Tags: , , , , , . Doc Appointments, HPV, information, Love.

Leave a Comment

Be the first to comment!

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

